The Bodyguard

Clock strikes upon the hour, and the sun begins to fade
Still enough time to figure out how to chase my blues away
I’ve done alright up ’til now
It’s the light of day that shows me how
And when the night falls.. Loneliness calls…

I’m sure we all know the next line, but just in case you don’t… 1, 2, 3, OOOOH, I WANNA DANCE WITH SOMEBODY! I WANNA FEEL THE HEAT WITH SOMEBODY. YEAH, I WANNA DANCE WITH SOMEBODY. WITH SOMEBODY WHO LOVES MEEEE!

Gotta love a bit of Whitney, right? In this case it was a bit of the wonderful Beverley we were loving.

My friends from work and I were very kindly offered tickets from the production company above our office. So before the show we decided to have the obligatory pre-theatre meal & cocktails at Cabana in St. Giles. I’d like to make it very clear that I absolutely love Cabana. I’ve been before and thought the food, interior décor, vibe, drinks and overall feel of the restaurant was fab (you can see from one of my previous posts here) – you can imagine how much I was bigging it up to the guys at work about how much they were going to love the food.

Unfortunately this time around was nowhere near as good as my first experience. In fact, if I’m keeping it 100% honest with you guys, it was shockingly bad. On Friday I visited with a friend during happy hour (5-7pm) for a few nibbles and drinks – the service was awful then. During the hour we were there we were served one drink, which we only received after having to get up and walk over to the bar. Not great, hey? Otherwise, we had gone completely unnoticed. I thought this time around would be better and that Friday just might have been a bad day, after all; even the best places have hiccoughs. Sadly not. My work friends and I arrived at 6pm and promptly ordered drinks and mains. At 6:20pm we flagged down a rather downcast and stressed looking waitress to ask if she knew how much longer our drinks were going to be as we had to leave for the theatre by 7:10pm. The response we received was an extremely blunt and most unhelpful “don’t know”. Thanks.

6:40pm and still no drinks. Not even tap water was on the table. Realising we may be looking at a lost cause, I asked to speak with one of the managers. We were told that due to technical issues with their ticket-printing machines they were experiencing delays – something we should have been told when we first arrived. Whilst I understand that this may cause minor complications, it doesn’t warrant the poor service I had received on Friday as well as now. 40 minutes to wait for drinks is a joke. With time threatening to run away with us, I had to tell the manager that if we hadn’t been served our food by 7pm then we would need to leave. 10 minutes later our drinks turned up.

7pm arrived, the food did not. We left Cabana hungry and unimpressed as we rushed down to Burger King instead. As I said earlier on, I genuinely love Cabana. It is usually super all around, so please don’t be put off by this occasion. Have a look at their nearest branch to you and get down there, the food really is delicious.

Now to the main event – the show!!
Que the inaudible gasps of shock; I haven’t actually seen the film of The Bodyguard. I know, I know, I’m a disgrace. I promise I will most definitely watch it soon. Starring in the newly opened show is Beverley Knight (who was brilliant in Memphis) and Ben Richards (who you may recognise as being from The Bill or most recently Hollyoaks). They’re a great combination of talent with Beverley as Rachel Marron, belting out the Whitney-classics, including I Will Always Love You, How Will I Know and One Moment In Time with complete ease and Ben playing Rachel’s bodyguard, delivering great one-liners as well as being just the right amount of smouldering for all the ladies in the audience. If you’re fans of the films or even if, like me, you haven’t seen it – GO! You’ll know all the songs anyway and it’s a great night out.

xo

Leave a Reply

