Ohana

They say “blood is thicker than water” and whilst this is of course, an actual fact, not everyone seems to fully understand the true meaning behind this frequently-used saying.

“People may come and go but family is forever”.
“A family is a place where minds come in contact with one another”.
“Family means no one gets left behind or forgotten”.

Granted, the last quote is taken from one of my favourite Disney films (ensuring I will never forget what ‘ohana’ means… ever!), however they all have one key theme – family.

Throughout our lives, from the very second our parents found out they were expecting until our very last moments, our families will always be our biggest and most loyal support group. The love we have for each other is unconditional and unbreakable. The bond we all share is something that just can’t be mimicked by others or forced. It’s natural. The most natural bond between humans to exist.

This may seem like such a random and somewhat soppy blog post. My family and I have always been extremely close-knit. There isn’t anything we don’t tell each other; no problem that we fight alone – we are a unit and that’s the way it will always be. I have so many memories with my family, from the ridiculous to the crazy, the fun to the sad and the absurd to the down-right weird – all of which are invaluable moments I’ll remember forever. My family are the people that will guide me through life. Giving me advice, helping me make the right choices, being my shoulder to cry on and giving me a good telling off when needed. What would we do without them?

Families come in all different shapes and sizes, different religions, different backgrounds etc. No two families are the same – we are all unique within ourselves, which is what makes our bond so strong.

I am very fortunate that my immediate family are as close as we all are. We see each other near enough every weekend, we speak throughout the week, we go for days and evenings out together… to be honest we practically do everything together. When it comes to family there are no heights you cannot reach and no lengths you cannot go to for them. There are a few members of my family that I don’t get to see too often as they live in Wales. We’ve made an effort to stay as close as possible over the years, ensuring we get together as often as we can and have as much fun as possible.

“So what’s the point of this post?” I hear you ask. The honest answer is there isn’t a ‘point’ as such. Sometimes we take our families for granted – of course we do, we’re only human and we all have selfish tendencies (sorry, not sorry!). It’s important to remind ourselves every now and again of how much we value the relationships we have with the people close to us, these are the people who mould us and teach us respect.

My family are my world and I don’t care how soppy or cringey it sounds. They have made me the person I am today. I am extremely proud of each and every one of them, as I hope they are of me.

xo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

