R.E.S.P.E.C.T; find out what it means to me

All my friends/family members know a little too well that I have a habit to go off on one when something gives me the hump. I hold my hands up, it’s a bad trait to have – one I am working on toning down.

A lot of things irritate me. A lot. This is by no means a miserable post with me moaning about copious amounts of things, don’t worry. It was on my commute to work earlier this week that something got me thinking. First of all, let’s get one thing clear; I am a person who believes in manners. Old or young, big or small, whatever – we were all brought up with manners. Our parents taught us please and thank you, they taught us how to be courteous, how to be polite and how to be respectful. Por favor, gracias, mercie, s’il vous plait, per favour, grazie, etc. My point being, we all know the basics.

During my morning commute to work earlier this week, I realised just how much times have changed. The manners I was brought up with clearly aren’t shared with the rest of London as I had originally thought. I had been waiting for the tube on a nicely empty platform (which is rarity for any London Underground station during rush hour!). One minute before the tube was due to arrive on a platform I felt someone brush my arm. Not fussed, I paid it no mind. As the tube started to approach the platform I felt the brush again. This time, I looked to my left to see an older man standing so close to me you could be forgiven for mistaking us as Siamese twins! The doors opened and I’m sure you can guess what happened next? Yep. Gone are the days of chivalry. I found myself being quite forcefully barged out of the way so this “gentleman” could be the first to step foot on to the tube and snag himself the last remaining seat.

I’m not a member of the W.I or anything like that. I’m not screaming from the rooftops about feminism or gender equality or anything crazy. But this brings me back to the beginning of this post; I do believe in manners. I have always been taught to respect others and to treat others as you would like others to treat you – I highly doubt this man would like it if I shoved him to the side the way he did me. It’s not the first time this has happened either and it got me thinking of how much these occurrences happen on a daily basis to both men and women from the hands of each other.

My mum constantly tells me not to let things annoy me so much and it’s true. I know that I, personally, would never treat people with disrespect or knowingly cause offence, therefore I assume that others are the same, sadly not quite.

Here’s an idea: let’s revert back to the good old days. Manners came easily. Respect was a two-way street and people could manage to smile at one another.

Cheer up, London isn’t that bad of a place!

ldn

Leave a Reply

