The Great Burger Grill Off!

We’ve all heard of the now very famous TV programme ‘The Great British Bake Off’, right? A show that pulls the nation together; everyone is talking about it the following morning at work, no one wants to miss out. I’ve only watched this a handle of times if I’m honest. I’m not a baker, I’ll put it out there, I’m really not – however, the incredible pieces these contestants are able to put together is fabulous! Anywhoo, I’m going off subject! A well-known ‘debate’ as such originated from the US and has (thankfully) made it’s way over to the UK is the face off between two of their most popular burger joints…

Five Guys VS Shake Shack – Who wins? YOU decide!

I’m a big fan of Rosie Thomas and her blog The Londoner. This was where I had first found out these brands were coming to the UK and I couldn’t have been more excited! Admittedly, I didn’t know much about the rivalry between Five Guys and Shake Shack back then, so I did some extensive research – in short, I Googled it! It turns out that these two restaurants are the top two burger places in all of the US, with them constantly being compared to the other. I’m a lover of a good burger, I must say. How would I know which one was best? Which burger was the juiciest? Which one was the cheesiest? Well the answer was simple, wasn’t it? I would have to try them for myself.

That I did. I tried Five Guys a year or two ago now and it has been a firm favourite ever since. Everything about it I love – it’s hardly surprising that The Londoner called it “heaven in a brown paper bag”. I won’t go in to too much detail here though, I blogged about it after my first taste so have a little look back! All I’ll say is if you haven’t been, what are you waiting for? GO!

Shake Shack is relatively new to London. The first UK branch was in Covent Garden in 2013 (I think) and it had a massive buzz about it. Now we’re in 2016 and we now have 3 other locations to make it easier for us all to enjoy. My cousin came to visit from Wales towards the end of last month and we made our way to Westfield Stratford for a day of shopping and relaxation! How I didn’t know this is a joke, but whilst trying to find somewhere to fill our bellies, we came across the Shake Shack itself. YAY, I was finally going to try it for myself.

Not going to lie – Shake Shack had their work cut out for them. Five Guys has taken it’s place as my favourite burger joint, ever. I had high hopes. The service was wonderful –  a charming lady called Skye took our orders and helped us with choices. I told her I was trying it for the time and would be wading in on the debate for myself so she promised to come by afterwards to see how we liked it and most importantly, who won the battle of the burgers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It certainly looks the part, doesn’t it? I ordered the cheese fries (obviously) and we both had bacon cheeseburgers. The cheese fries were gorgeous! I absolutely loved them! Not many burger restaurants offer crinkly fries these days either, this was definitely an added bonus! Did the burger live up to it’s high expectations? Did it outshine Five Guys? drumroll please… As yummy as it was, Five Guys still reigns supreme for me. The burger was lovely – had good flavour and was nicely filling but it didn’t have the ooze that I love in a Five Guys burger; the bun wasn’t squished into the burger patty as much and it the fillings didn’t stay in place quite as well. Having said that, I would still enjoy another visit!

Find your closest Shake Shack location and try it for yourself!

Me
xo

Leave a Reply

