Let The Games Begin… Again?

This time last week I was on my last day of annual leave from work. What better way to spend it than by having some tasty grub and to settle down with a good new film with your lover?

As many fans of this particular franchise will know; Part 1 of the finale of this extremely successful film adaptated (is that even a word? I don’t think it is? … It is now!) book series hit cinemas all over London last Thursday and I was buzzing to go and see it! I am, of course, talking about The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1.

Come Friday morning, I coaxed the mister out of bed to get up and ready for our chill day! We hopped in my car and made our way to our first pit stop of the day, my all time favourite Mexican eatery – Wahaca!

If, like my fella, you haven’t been to Wahaca yet, I have one question; WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE? This hurts my soul. I couldn’t take it and decided that he simply had to try it! I am somewhat of a regular at the Wimbledon branch so was greeted with a lovely smile from the manager on duty – it’s worth saying that I see this lady on every visit to the restaurant; she always has the most energy and is so welcoming. I helped the mister out the menu – it’s best to order 3/4 different small dishes at a time and share them between the two of you, that way you get a little taste of everything! I persuaded him to go for my absolute favourites: chipotle chicken quesadilla, chorizo & potato quesadilla, grilled steak tacos and their delicious chunks of sweet potato … heaven!

TIP! Order some “crema” when the waiters come to ask if everything is okay with your order – it’s basically not so sour-sour cream, but it goes amazingly well with the sweet potato chunks!

Have a look at their website and start planning your visit!!
http://www.wahaca.co.uk/

After filling our bellies, we waddled in to the cinema. Thankfully we were able to go during the day when it was quite quiet – the amount of children and annoyingly loud teenagers we saw heading in for the next showing as we left would’ve made me do a U-turn!

As readers of the books will know, Mockingjay is the finale of the series. Katniss has been chosen as the ‘Mockingjay’ aka the person leading the rebellion against the Capitol and of course, President Snow. Unfortunately for Katniss, she is a solider down – after the previous Quarter Quell Hunger Games, President Snow has kept the remaining victors captive inside the Capitol, including her love interest, Peeta.

As this is only Part 1, as viewers we need to remember that this is the build up to the very eventful finale. There are some extremely moving scenes, mostly courtesy of the gorgeous Jennifer Lawrence for the ladies – the great “If we burn, you burn with us!” speech – as well as some brilliant action scenes for the guys to enjoy.

Will they be reunited? Will Katniss actually end up with hunky Gale instead? Will the districts overpower President Snow and the Capitol? Will Panem ever return to normality?
You’ll have to wait until Part 2 for those answers! Unless, of course, you’re already in the know – you cheeky devils!

BRING. IT. ON!

xo

Leave a Reply

